Tags

,

To recap, we started with an off-the-rack Spanish lace gown (the San Patrick “Provenza” model) and some big, if vague, ideas for what it might become.

Since we last saw our trusty gown-in-progress, it has grown spaghetti straps, a V-back, and a slimmer silhouette, fitted through midthigh or so…

aa-dress-001

Lace detail (still in progress)

Lace detail (still in progress)

(the lavender lady is my mom)

(the lavender lady is my mom)

aa dress 005

Elena the seamstress thought that the formerly A-line skirt could use a bit of crinoline in front to flesh out the patterns in the lace. Mom nixed this idea on sight — she thought it flared too much, and I wasn’t aiming for the mermaid look. Elena unpinned half the crinoline and took it out; we’ll see how the skirt lays when she’s finished.

too flared?

too flared?

The Little Mermaid redux

The Little Mermaid redux

The good news is that I now have a veil. But I’ll get to that. First, the unsuccessful contenders:

Veil Fail #1: The Blusher

Lots of brides have these. I think it’s supposed to make you look demure. Alas, for all the things I am, an ingenue I ain’t. I’m a divorcee walking down the aisle by myself, and even if that doesn’t make me an outright brazen hussy, you’d better believe that my head’s going to be uncovered when I do it.

The blusher: FAIL.

The blusher: FAIL.

Veil Fail #2: The Cathedral Train

No-brainer, right? There’s no place more appropriate for a cathedral-length veil than the National Cathedral. Or so I thought, until I tried the thing on and realized it drowned my gown in the tulle verson of our living room rug.

Cathedral length veil: FAIL.

Cathedral length veil: FAIL.

But the failed veils were not without their positive points. I was a big fan of the chapel length (sans blusher), the embroidered scalloped edge on the cathedral veil, and the square cut that gave the veil almost a blazerlike effect as it ended in two corners at my hips. “Can you make me this veil in this length, with embroidery to match the lace on the dress?” I asked Elena. She said yes, she could. Success!

Chapel length: doesn't drown the gown

Chapel length: doesn't drown the gown

Nifty rectangular edge, nifty embroidered scallops

Nifty rectangular edge, nifty embroidered scallops

Funky flash effect

Funky flash effect

aaa dress 031

