Tags

, ,

Wherein we learn that:

1) The bling totally works with this gown, just as we’d imagined.

Elena suggested shortening the chain a bit.  Maybe?

Elena suggested shortening the chain a bit. Maybe?

2) The scalloped beading on the veil totally works with the bling and the gown. We has ensemble!

Neckline, necklace, veil

Neckline, necklace, veil

Veil beading and scallop detail

Veil beading and scallop detail

3) If I hadn’t been off powdering my nose while my mother ordered my veil, I might have gotten the chapel-length veil I thought I wanted, instead of the cathedral-length veil that truly fits. But fortune was looking out for me.

Cathedral veil

Elianna, sorry -- you're going to have some veil-herding to do!

Elianna, sorry -- you're going to have some veil-herding to do!

Detail of scallops and corner cut

It wasn’t the length that was wrong with the other one, it was the shape.

WRONG.

Then: WRONG.

Right on.

Now: Right on.

4) I should pay no heed to the folks who encourage me to drop the flamenco fan and carry a nosegay of flowers down the aisle instead. Because the abanicos are AWESOME.

Abanico pequeño

Abanico pequeño

Abanico grande

Abanico grande

I’m thinking the small one actually works better than the larger.

Los dos abanicos

Los dos abanicos

5) “You have lost weight!” exclaimed Elena, “now this dress is very loose on you! I need to take it in again!” And I had. And it was. And so she cinched. And I giggled in disbelief at what is, apparently, my actual waistline.

CINCHED.

CINCHED.

This is me. September 2009. For real.

This is me. September 2009. For real.

I’ve eschewed carbs (and, to a lesser extent, calories) since Fourth of July, and while I’ve missed them, the payoff speaks for itself.

Proud seamstress, elated bride-to-be

Proud seamstress, elated bride-to-be

